Parks for Downtown Dallas (PfDD) was established in 2015 when its predecessor organization, The Belo Foundation, pledged its assets to the design and construction of the four priority parks identified in the 2013 Downtown Parks Master Plan Update. Since reconstituting in 2015, the organization’s focus has shifted to funding, designing and constructing Pacific Plaza, West End Square, Carpenter Park and Harwood Park.

The four priority parks are being funded by $39 million in City of Dallas bonds (approved by the citizens of Dallas as part of the 2006 and 2017 Bond Programs) and more than $49 million of committed private monies. PfDD has committed substantially all of its assets to help build the four priority parks with the Dallas Park and Recreation Department and is dedicated singularly to the long-term development and support of public parks within the center city.

In parallel with park design and construction, PfDD is raising funds to support future public improvements and supplemental maintenance of Downtown Parks. The Downtown Parks Maintenance Endowment was established in 2018 to ensure that these urban parks continue to contribute to the sustainability and quality of life in the center city for decades to come. This fund will complement the city’s investment in routine maintenance and assure the quality of these green spaces in a downtown environment.

Parks for Downtown Dallas is a longtime partner in building and maintaining Downtown Dallas parks and open space, beginning with the construction of Lubben Plaza which was gifted to the City of Dallas in 1985. PfDD is proud to have supported Downtown parks through grants to the Dallas Parks Foundation for Pioneer Plaza; the creation of the Dallas Police Memorial; maintenance of Lubben Plaza from 2002-2018; multi-year funding for the operations of Ferris Plaza; as well as the design, construction and ongoing maintenance of Belo Garden.

Amy Meadows, who served for 11 years as the vice president and executive director of The Belo Foundation, is Parks For Downtown Dallas’ president. Its trustees include chairman Robert Decherd, Guy Kerr, Dunia Shive and Marian Spitzberg.